Psalm 37, part 5

To go back to Part 1 click Psalm 37, part 1

Psalm 37:30-34 (ESV)

30 The mouth of the righteous utters wisdom,     and his tongue speaks justice. 31 The law of his God is in his heart;     his steps do not slip.

32 The wicked watches for the righteous     and seeks to put him to death. 33 The Lord will not abandon him to his power     or let him be condemned when he is brought to trial.

34 Wait for the Lord and keep his way,     and he will exalt you to inherit the land;     you will look on when the wicked are cut off.

I have taken a long time to write about this piece of Ps 37. It’s been a bit on a personal level, because I did go to court in mid-February. There was a judgement issued on 2/29/16, and I was waiting for the appeal period to be over before I tackled verse 33 in a public way. Because I will be honest… way too many women are abandoned by the law in a divorce trial. The lies of the man are not proven, the woman walks away with no support and is left in poverty. I am happy to report this was not the case for me. The judgement was fair. There has been an appeal, and once I got over the initial anger at that and was able to think clearly again, I recognized that whichever way the appeal goes I am still better off.

So, the process of court and judgement and appeal… it has been very difficult to utter wisdom and speak justice. Very difficult to carry the Word of God in my heart rather than anger and bitterness. And I have not always succeeded. But God keeps holding on to me, He keeps reminding me, and he has kept my foot from slipping. Waiting for the LORD, keeping His way in the midst of suffering, these are gifts He gives to me just as much as eternity in Heaven is a gift. And the only way to wait for the LORD and keep His way is to trust Him for it.

©Rebecca A Givens, 4/11/16

 

Leave a Reply

