My Briggs Myers Test

This past week I took the Briggs Myers’ personality test for a class. I have to admit that I was skeptical going in. How could a quick free test really show my personality type? My understanding is that this not a truly scientific definitive test, and I know several people who score differently on it every time they take it. I answered the questions, some of which I would like to have had an “it depends on the situation” answer, but I tried to give true typical responses and feelings.

My results were INTJ – Introverted iNtuitive Thinking Judging. It gave percentages of each:

Introvert(56%)  iNtuitive(38%)  Thinking(38%)  Judging(44%)

  • You have moderate preference of Introversion over Extraversion (56%)
  • You have moderate preference of Intuition over Sensing (38%)
  • You have moderate preference of Thinking over Feeling (38%)
  • You have moderate preference of Judging over Perceiving (44%)

So in other words, I am not extremely any of those things, but I am definitely in those categories. The website then went on to describe my personality, learning style, communication style, and listed famous people (and literary characters) who share my personality type. It also listed some career choices, and I was pleased to see Librarian listed!

I found the results interesting, and very accurate. I can see that this type of test could help people evaluate and understand themselves, and give them words to help others understand them too. Reading this also gave me a clue as to how other people might react to me. Seeing my strengths and weaknesses in words helps me see some traits I need to be aware of and sometimes work to change (or at least reign in and control) as I relate to other people. I am also aware of how I have grown and changed over the years, and would be curious to see what trends there are in the scores as people grow older. I would think a growing, maturing person would tend to become more moderate in personality… although, maybe not. Some people do seem to become more set in their ways, whatever those ways are, and more extreme in their personality as they grow older. I’ve always taken that as a reason to work hard to become a better person while I can. As I said, seeing the scores over a lifetime would be an interesting study.

On a team, using this type of test to understand ourselves and our team mates this way could help everyone work together, and work to each person’s strengths. There is a handy chart on the website where you can click any of the personality types to read about them.

I would love to see my family and friends scores! Feel free to take the test and share with me.

One thought on “My Briggs Myers Test

Leave a Reply

