Psalm 37, part 3

Psalm 37:18-24 (ESV)

18 The Lord knows the days of the blameless,
and their heritage will remain forever;

At first this seems simple, but it is incredibly profound. The blameless are the ones blameless in His sight because they are bought with the blood of Christ, otherwise no one is blameless. So I am blameless not because I am perfect (good thing), I am blameless because Christ took the blame.

The Lord knows my days… He knows what each day of my life contains: past, present, and future. He knows because He meticulously planned my life, and He is Sovereign. His plan will stand forever, and my heritage, my inheritance, will stand into eternity.

19 they are not put to shame in evil times;
in the days of famine they have abundance.

God Himself will uphold me. Clearly in days of famine everyone goes hungry. When Israel went into exile, everybody went, including the righteous ones (think Daniel and his friends, Esther and Mordecai, or going further back, Joseph). This does not mean bad things do not happen to God’s people. Look back at the previous verse – it means God has Sovereignly planned all my days, and God’s blessing will be there even in the midst of those hard times. His Presence will never leave me, even if it seems to disappear from the world around me.

20 But the wicked will perish;
the enemies of the Lord are like the glory of the pastures;
they vanish—like smoke they vanish away.

The wicked, the enemies of the LORD, may look great for a while, they may look prosperous and beautiful, but in the end they will perish and vanish. They have no eternity in heaven at the end of this life, they have eternity in hell.

21 The wicked borrows but does not pay back,
but the righteous is generous and gives;
22 for those blessed by the Lord shall inherit the land,
but those cursed by him shall be cut off.

The wicked have nothing to give; their wealth is temporary. The righteous have the love of God flowing through them to others. We have the love of God to give.

23 The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
when he delights in his way;
24 though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong,
for the Lord upholds his hand.

I find these last two verses so comforting, because I know my own heart, I know my own sin. “Prone to wander, Lord I feel it.” But when I delight in the Way of God, when I stay in His Word and stay in fellowship with Him, the narrow path of righteousness stays beneath my feet. And when I do wander off and fall, when I doubt and fear or get stubborn and selfish, whenever I stray from the path, God Himself promises He will hold on to me and bring me back. I will not fall fatally. The LORD upholds my hand. Thank You LORD God. Bring me to repentance when I sin.

©Rebecca A Givens, 02/15/16

Leave a Reply

