Information Tech Proficiency/Fluency revisisted

Since this class began I have learned a lot about HTML tagging.  Part of me thinks so what, I am just parroting the instructions and that doesn’t mean much.  However, I realized this morning some of it is sinking in.  I wrote something in Word to post on my blog.  The formatting changed in the process, so I looked at the HTML of the blog post – and fixed it!  Wahoo, something did indeed sink in.  Perhaps that is becoming more fluent, I would have just left it not quite right in the past.

Also, as I was watching the videos for Module 2c, I found that I had already done some of it earlier (playing with color, the header part of the page and giving the page a name, etc), whenever it caught my eye in the book or w3schools.  I don’t think I will ever be a programmer or a website designer (I am still slow and have to think a lot about what I am doing), but I like understanding more of how it works, and being able to see the tagging and know how to find the resources to figure it out.

In other areas – my iPhone 3G died a couple of weeks ago.  It had been given to me as a hand-me-down phone years ago, and yes, it was extremely old and outdated and would no longer run most apps.  Money, and lack thereof, was a huge consideration, so I did some online research (consumer reports) to decide what to replace it with and had my son verify that my choice seemed a good one.  The phone arrived, I got a new SIM card, and immediately became frustrated with the learning curve.  I could not even answer the stupid thing.  Switching from Apple to Android was more difficult than I imagined, because the basic operation feels different.  Or maybe it is the six years that have elapsed since my old phone was new.  Whatever the cause, it took a week to just not feel stupid with the new phone.  I am still picking up little details, but now I am feeling quite comfortable with it.

The moral of these stories is that whatever technology I need to figure out and use, I can.  And the more I use it, the better I will be at it.  And the more I know, the more comfortable I will be, and the more natural it will become.  I see that as the path to IT fluency.

The alternate moral would be when all else fails, exit the system and get back in.

 

Leave a Reply

