Psalm 37 part 2

Psalm 37:10-15 (ESV)

10 In just a little while, the wicked will be no more;
though you look carefully at his place, he will not be there.

  • We mentioned already the fleeting nature of this life.

11 But the meek shall inherit the land
and delight themselves in abundant peace.

  • Meek – meek does not mean weak. It means controlled strength. Moses was described as meek, he was far from weak.   Jesus was meek, and He had the strength of God Almighty. But He controlled that strength, He subjected it to God’s Will.
  • The meek will inherit the land, not conquer it, but be given it. This is heaven.
  • Delight. This is the 2nd time we see that word in this Psalm. Earlier we were told to delight in the LORD. Now we are told we will delight ourselves in abundant peace. Delight is a fabulous word. “He rescued me because He delighted in me” is my life verse. I struggle with the concept of delight. It’s not forced, but it seems to be deliberate. It is fun, it is enjoyment, it strikes me as an innocent word. I find it hard to believe anyone would take delight in me – that is a product of my past. I also struggle with the concept of me delighting in something or someone else. It seems frivolous. I think maybe I don’t deserve it – also a product of my past. But I am told to delight in the LORD and He will give me the desires of my heart, and here I am promised that I will delight in abundant peace.
  • Abundant always catches my eye. Not just peaceful. Abundant peace, overflowing peace, peace that fills up every nook and cranny, peace that overwhelms the anxious fretting heart.

12 The wicked plots against the righteous
and gnashes his teeth at him,
13 but the Lord laughs at the wicked,
for he sees that his day is coming.

  • The wicked enemy, or the world, or my own sin nature really do plot against me. The image of gnashing teeth is an interesting one. They are so intense they are grinding their teeth, so angry they grit their teeth as they think about me.
  • But. But is always a word worth paying attention to.
  • The Lord laughs at them. Why is this Lord lower case while the previous LORD was uppercase? A different name for God partway through? Must research this.
  • For. Also always worth thinking about. There is a purpose.
  • He sees the end of the wicked. He sees their future. He sees their judgement.

14 The wicked draw the sword and bend their bows
to bring down the poor and needy,
to slay those whose way is upright;
15 their sword shall enter their own heart,
and their bows shall be broken.

  • Again, the wicked really do attack the righteous on purpose.
  • But their plans will backfire, they will fall into their own pit.

16 Better is the little that the righteous has
than the abundance of many wicked.
17 For the arms of the wicked shall be broken,
but the Lord upholds the righteous.

  • The poor righteous man is better off than the wealthy wicked man. The righteous man has peace with God that will last an eternity. The wicked man might have wealth in this life, but faces judgment without Christ. Everything they have now, whatever wealth or victory, will be broken and lost at that point. But the one who looks to Christ will be upheld by Him.

©Rebecca Givens, 02/06/16

Leave a Reply

